A Brief History of the Dept. of Biomolecular Chemistry

 1921   Harold C. Bradley founded the Department of Physiological Chemistry and became its first Chair.
 1924   First Ph.D. in the Department of Physiological Chemistry is awarded to Alrick Brynhjolf Hertzman.
 1932   Marian Esther Stark is the first woman to receive a Ph.D. in the Department of Physiological Chemistry.
 1942   The author of the definitive series Principles in Biochemistry, Albert L. Lehninger, receives his Ph.D. in Physiological Chemistry from UW-Madison.
 1947   Philip P. Cohen succeeds Dr. Bradley as Chair.
 1975   Harry J. Karavolas becomes Chair of the Department.
 1979   Elizabeth A. Craig becomes the first female faculty member hired in Physiological Chemistry.
 1991   The department name is changed from Physiological to Biomolecular Chemistry.
 1996   Elizabeth Craig assumes the position of Chair of the department.
 2002   Robert H. Fillingame becomes Chair.
 2012   Biomolecular Chemistry moves into a new $112 million state of the art research complex (Biochemical Sciences) on Henry Mall.
 2013   Patricia J. Kiley becomes Chair. 


BMC Faculty, 2013
Biomolecular Chemistry Faculty, 2013